Regions Help & Support
Can I recall a payment or cancel it?
You can only cancel a payment if the person you sent money to hasn’t yet enrolled with Zelle®.1 To check whether the payment is still pending because the recipient hasn’t yet enrolled, you can go to your Activity page, choose the payment you want to cancel, and then select "Cancel This Payment."
If the person you sent money to has already enrolled with Zelle®,1 the money is sent directly to their bank account and cannot be canceled.
This is why it's important to only send money to people you trust, and always ensure you’ve used the correct email address or U.S. mobile number when sending money.1
1. To send or receive money with Zelle®, both parties must have an eligible checking or savings account. Transactions between enrolled users typically occur in minutes. Payment requests can only be sent to enrolled Zelle® users. If you don’t know the person you are paying or aren’t sure you’ll get what you are purchasing, we recommend you do not use Zelle® for the transaction. Once you have made a payment with Zelle®, it may not be possible to reverse the payment or recover the funds.